India Vs West Indies, 1st Test: First Test to play Prithvi Shaw, India announces 12 players

India Vs West Indies, 1st Test: First Test to play Prithvi Shaw, India announces 12 players

The first Test match of the two-match Test series between India and West Indies will be played in Rajkot from October 4. Before the first Test match against the West Indies, the Indian team management has announced the names of 12 players.

India had lost in South Africa and England in the last nine months but still remains the world's number one team in Test matches. Now the Indian team is focusing on this series leaving behind the defeat in England. It is decided that India will go on the field with a new open pair in this match. With the Lokesh Rahul, the Indian innings will start with Prithvi Shaw. Mayank Agarwal has not been able to find a place in the last 12, so he will have to wait a bit longer for his debut. The responsibility of the middle-order will be on Cheteshwar Pujara, captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane.

Talking about the bowling department, it is decided to play with India's three spinners - R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. After resting Jaspreet Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma injured, Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami will lead the fast bowling attack. Jadeja will play the role of the all-rounder in the absence of injured Pandya. Jadeja, who made a great comeback in the Asia Cup, will be ready to shine the glow on his home ground.

Another player, Rishabh Pant, will also be looking at who has kept his place in the team by playing an innings of 114 runs in the Oval. Hanuma Vihari, who scored 56 on his debut at the Oval, will not get a place in the playing XI because the team wants to throw five specialist bowlers.

  • Teams-:

India Probable XI: Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav/Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav

West Indies Probable XI: Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Jason Holder (c), Devendra Bishoo, Keemo Paul, Sherman Lewis/Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel

Share this post