India Vs West Indies, 1st Test - Highlight: India Win by an Innings and 272 Runs!

India Vs West Indies, 1st Test - Highlight: India Win by an Innings and 272 Runs!

India defeated the West Indies by an innings and 272 runs in the first Test. This is the biggest victory in India's Test history in 86 years. Earlier, India had defeated Afghanistan by an innings and 262 runs this year. The last biggest win against the West Indies was in 2013. Then India won the match by innings and 126 runs.

Earlier, batting first, India had scored 649 runs in 9 wickets. In reply West Indies were all out for 181 runs in the first innings. India took the lead with 468 runs and followed them. In the second innings, the batsmen of the West Indies could not make any runs and were all out for 196 runs. India's Prithvi Shaw, who scored a century in the debut test, got the man of the match award. The second test will be played from October 12 to 16 at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad.

Biggest ever win in Test Cricket

Years Against Place Winning Difference
2018 West Indies Rajkot Innings and 272 runs.
2018 Afghanistan Bangalore Innings and 262 runs.
2007 Bangladesh Dhaka Innings and 239 runs
2007 Sri Lanka Nagpur Innings and 239 runs
1999 Australia Kolkata Innings and 219 runs

Three Indian batsmen - Prithvi Shaw, Captain Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja - scored centuries. Virat scored his 24th century Jadeja also did his best in bowling. He took 4 wickets in the match. At the same time, Ravichandran Ashwin took 7 and Kuldeep Yadav took 6 wickets.

Prithvi Shaw played his debut test for 134 runs. Together with Cheteshwar Pujara, they shared a 206-run partnership for the second wicket. Pujara was out for 86 runs. After this Virat Kohli added 105 runs for the fourth wicket with Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane returned to the pavilion after scoring 41 runs. Kohli shared a 133-run partnership with Rishabh Pant for the fifth wicket. Kohli returned to the pavilion by scoring 139 runs.

India declared the first innings by scoring 649 runs in nine wickets in 149.5 overs. Ravindra Jadeja 100 and Mohammed Shami returned unbeaten pavilion on two runs. Jadeja's career is the first century and the highest score. Earlier, his maximum score was 90 runs which he scored 90 runs against England in Mohali on 26 November 2016. Jadeja had scored a triple century in first-class cricket in 2012 on this field of Rajkot. After that he became the first batsman to score three triple century in first-class cricket.

Rishab Pant missed out on making his second Test century. They returned to the pavilion at 92 runs. He was caught by Devendra Bishoo on Keemo Paul midwicket. Virat scored 139 runs and was caught by Devendra Bishoo on the mid-on on the bowling of Sherman Lewis. They reached the second spot in terms of playing the lowest Test and innings and setting 24 centuries.

  • Teams-:

India (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav​​​​​​​

West Indies (Playing XI): Kraigg Brathwaite(c), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich(w), Keemo Paul, Devendra Bishoo, Sherman Lewis, Shannon Gabriel

Share this post