IPL2018: The Best Cricket Carnival Starts Today! It’s the big guns in action!

Written by Vishnu R L / 07.04.2018

India’s favourite game and its splendid carnival starts today. The professional T20 cricket league established in 2008, instantly becomes a blockbuster. For viewers its fun & entertainment at its best. For BCCI the best revenue source. For brands, their biggest marketing platform. For players the best exposure of talent.

From the inception of the tournament, people started to love the entertainment it offered. Big sixes, cheerleaders, Bollywood stars cheering the team on the sidelines and the gala opening ceremonies spiced it up for the audience. It has revolutionised the sport and the way it is played. With players from different parts of the world joining in, IPL serves as a platform for them to get to know the flatter subcontinent pitches.

With the advent of the IPL, almost overnight the world’s best cricketers—who had seldom made the kind of money earned by their counterparts in other professional sports—became millionaires. It’s the success of IPL that leads to the T20 league revolution. Now T20 league is conducted in all Cricket loving countries. Big Bash, PSL, BPL all arises from the idea of IPL.

The no of young talents that are benefitted from it is countless. Normal players becomes super stars within a single season and single match. The success stories of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa and the no’s goes on.

The eight founding franchises are back. The league, which is based on a round-robin group and knockout format, has teams in major Indian cities. The top four teams contest three play-off matches, with one losing team being given a second chance to reach the final, a wrinkle aimed at maximizing potential television revenue. The play-off portion of the tournament involves the four teams that finished at the top of the tables in a series of knockout games that allows one team that lost its first-round game a second chance to advance to the final match.

The best two teams of IPL starts of the tournament in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. Defending Champions Mumbai Indians and two-time winners Chennai Super Kings will feature in the season opening clash of VIVO IPL 2018. A MI-CSK clash is a fitting way to begin the season, for these are the two-most successful teams in the IPL.

Mumbai Indians have the core of the team that won the title in 2017 available to them this season too, while Chennai Super Kings, who return to the competition after a two-year absence, will sport a new-look side, though a few popular players – who helped establish the CSK brand – will continue to don the yellow jersey.

Mumbai Indians have been perennial poor starters; they have now lost their last five season opening fixtures. Rohit Sharma and company will be keen to set that record right when they take the field on the opening night of the 2018 season.

IPL 2018 Teams & Players:

latest news latest news


latest news

Stats of IPL:

latest news latest news latest news latest news latest news latest news latest news



2017 - A year of Great heights and a few lows for Indian Cricket Team.

A sensational winning streak of 9 Test series, only matched up by the Mighty Australians under Ricky Ponting relinquishes the status of "The Best Team of 2017".Read More...