India tour of West Indies 2019, West Indies Vs India, 1st T20I: INDIA WIN BY 4 WICKETS!

India tour of West Indies 2019, West Indies Vs India, 1st T20I: INDIA WIN BY 4 WICKETS!

India defeated West Indies by 4 wickets in the first T20 in Florida on Saturday. With this victory, the Indian team went ahead 1–0 in the 3 T20 series. Team India recorded their fourth consecutive win in this format against the Windies. He last lost in 2017 to Kingston.

India won the toss and elected to bowl first. West Indies made 95 for 9 in 20 overs. For him, Kieron Pollard scored 49 runs. Navdeep Saini, who debuted for India, took 3 wickets. This is the Windies' lowest score in T20 against India. Earlier in 2018, he scored 109 runs. Team India won the match by scoring 98 runs for 6 wickets in 17.2 overs. Ravindra Jadeja was unbeaten on 10 and Washington  8 runs.

Team India started off badly to chase the target of 96 runs to win. Shikhar Dhawan, the team's opener batsman, became the victim of Cottrell by scoring just one run. Cottrell beats him to LBW for just one run. Rohit Sharma was caught out by Sunil Narine at the hands of Pollard. Rohit scored 24 runs off 25 balls. Sunil Naren got Rishabh Pant caught out without opening the account.

Pant could not even open his account. Manish Pandey was bowled clean by Chemo Paul for 19 runs. Indian captain Virat Kohli scored 19 runs in 29 balls. He was also caught by Cottrell at the hands of Pollard with his ball. Krunal Pandya was bowled by Chemo Paul for 12 runs. After this Jadeja scored an unbeaten 10 runs while Sundar scored 8 not out to give the team victory.

  • Match Toss

Indian skipper, Virat Kohli says the wicket has been undercover and it will get better as the game progresses and hence he wants to bowl. Says they have accepted the semi-final defeat and they look to move on. Tells the priority is to win but when there is an opportunity they are also looking to experiment and give the youngsters a chance to cement their place. Tells there are 20-25 games to be played before the 2020 World Cup and they look to make the most of it. On his team changes, Kohli informs KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and the Chahar brothers are the ones missing out in this game

West Indies skipper, Carlos Brathwaite admits they would have bowled first as well but they accept the decision and look to put on a better show. Says that they are looking to build a squad for the 2020 World Cup and hopes to peak at the tournament. Informs, Mohammed, Bramble, Pierre are the ones missing out.

India Playing XI - Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Khaleel Ahmed.

West Indies Playing XI - John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Shimron Hetmyer, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (C), Sunil Narine, Keemo Paul, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.

Match Preview

Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, Team India would like to start their tour with a win. Some new players have got an opportunity in the team, so some players have been rested, due to this, the team can team up with some young faces.

Both teams will play international matches for the first time after the World Cup. The Indian team reached the semi-finals in the World Cup. At the same time, the West Indies had finished ninth. India defeated the West Indies in that tournament. In T20 both teams will be face to face after 10 months. Last time, in the match played in Chennai on November 11, the Indian team won by 6 wickets. So far 4 T20 series have been held between the two teams. Both of them named the series 2–2.

When: 1st T20I on August 3 at 8 PM IST | 2:30 PM GMT

Where: Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, Florida


India (From): Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, K Khaleel Ahmed, Manish Pandey, Deepak Chahar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar

West Indies (From): John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Nicholas Pooran(w), Kieron Pollard, Jason Mohammed, Carlos Brathwaite(c), Keemo Paul, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Khary Pierre, Sunil Narine

Share this post