IPL 2019, Mumbai Indians Vs Chennai Super Kings, Final: Mumbai Indians win fourth IPL title by beat Chennai Super Kings 1 runs

IPL 2019, Mumbai Indians Vs Chennai Super Kings, Final: Mumbai Indians win fourth IPL title by beat Chennai Super Kings 1 runs

The IPL 2019 final match at Hyderabad's Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium was played between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. In this extremely exciting match, Mumbai defeated Chennai by one run, beating the IPL 12 title. Mumbai has now become the first such team in IPL history, which has won its title four times. Mumbai won the IPL trophy four times in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019.

In this match, Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose the bat first. Earlier, batting first, Mumbai scored 149 for 8 wickets. CSK got the target of 150 runs to win the fourth IPL title, but the team scored 148 runs out of seven wickets in 20 overs. In this match, Chennai had to score two runs for the last ball to win, but Malinga gave the team the victory with the LBW off Shardul Thakur on the last ball. For this match, Jaspreet Bumrah was selected as the Man of the Match for his superb bowling.

The second 1-run win for Mumbai in the final of an Indian T20 League tournament. Remember the 2017 final against Pune? That was a 1-run victory as well.

The orchestrators of this win were three people - Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar. Pollard because his unbeaten 41 took Mumbai to a competitive total. Bumrah ensured that after the early leakage of runs, there was control in the middle overs and the end but what a spell Rahul Chahar bowled. 4-0-14-1 - same as Bumrah with one wicket less but the choke that he had during the middle overs was exceptional.

Easily, Chennai panicked. This is what happens when you depend only on one or two players. Dhoni - their go-to man throughout the tournament - failed here. Watson - a man for the big finals - did it again but could not quite take his team over the line. But there was nothing from the other batsmen, with almost everyone throwing it away. Normally, just one solid partnership and one good innings at the top are required chasing 150 or below. Chennai had both. But Mumbai had the unbelievable never-say-die spirit. Lasith Malinga went for 42 in his 3 overs. But when it mattered, in the final over, defending 8, he conceded just 7. Champion stuff. Only Krunal had an off day.

Chennai skipper, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, says that as a team they had a good season but wants to go back and discuss how to win finals. Admits that throughout the tournament, batting never clicked but somehow they managed to get to this stage but here, the poor batting cost them. Smiles and says that during the game, it felt like Mumbai and Chennai were passing the trophy to one another but eventually Mumbai held their nerve. Feels that bowling was Chennai's strength and even in the final, they did well, strongly commenting that this was not a 150-pitch but more. Adds that the batting needs to come good next season, else they will struggle during the knockouts. But for now, wants to focus on the upcoming World Cup.

Victorious Mumbai skipper, Rohit Sharma, is all smiles. Says that throughout the tournament, Mumbai played good cricket which is the reason they finished on top. Stresses that they got some momentum at the start in the first half and when that was achieved, all plans started falling into place. Praises each and every player of the 25-man squad for chipping in at some point of time.

Believes that Mumbai's bowling was excellent in this game with the bowlers putting their hand up post the Powerplay and bringing the team back in the match. Details that they backed themselves to bowl in any conditions and any situation and which is why they could bounce back in this match. Praises Lasith Malinga for coming back so well in that last over, in spite of going for over 40 runs in the first 3. Admits that at one stage, he wanted to go to Hardik Pandya for that final over but he went for experience. On his own captaincy skills, Rohit humbly says that whatever he is, it is because of the entire team.


Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Share this post