IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings beat Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets

IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings beat Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets

Chennai Super Kings ended their campaign in IPL 2020 by defeating Kings XI Punjab by nine wickets. CSK achieved the target of 154 runs with seven balls remaining after losing wickets. After the victory of Chennai, which was already out before the playoff race, the journey to Punjab also ended in this tournament. He needed to win this match to keep his hopes of reaching the playoffs alive. The hero of the win for Chennai was the opener Rituraj Gaikwad, who made the fifth consecutive match. He returned unbeaten after scoring 62 runs. Ambati Rayudu scored 30 not out.

A solid start for Chennai

Rituraj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessi gave Chennai a decent start during the chase. Both the batsmen played the opening overs carefully. Once the eyes were set, the attack started. First Gaikwad hit a six in Chris Jordan's over in the third over. In the next over, Deepak Hooda gave a life to du Plessy off Jimmy Neesham. Taking advantage of this, he gave a six root. In the fifth over, du Plessi and Gaikwad hit two fours. In search of wickets, Punjab put Ravi Bishnoi on the front in the sixth over. But du Plessi sent the first two balls for fours and sixes.

In the six overs of the powerplay, Chennai scored 57 runs without losing wickets. In the subsequent overs, the bowlers of Punjab banned the boundary of Chennai. The effect of this pressure was soon visible. Du Plessi became the victim of Chris Jordan in the 10th over. He scored 48 runs in 34 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes.

Punjab batting condition

Earlier, on the basis of Deepak Hooda's unbeaten 62-run aggressive innings, Kings XI Punjab scored a challenging score of 153 for six wickets. Hooda hit three fours and four sixes in his 30-ball unbeaten innings. For Chennai, Lungi Ngidi took three wickets for 39 runs in four overs, while Imran Tahir took 24 runs in four overs and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket for just 17 runs in three overs. Shardul Thakur took one wicket for 27 runs in four overs.

Punjab (Playing XI) - KL Rahul (WK/C), Mayank Agarwal (IN PLACE OF ARSHDEEP SINGH), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, James Neesham (IN PLACE OF GLENN MAXWELL), Deepak Hooda, Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami.

Chennai (Playing XI) - Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis (IN PLACE OF SHANE WATSON), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (WK/C), N Jagadeesan, Sam Curran, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur (IN PLACE OF KARN SHARMA), Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir (IN PLACE OF MITCHELL SANTNER).

Share this post