New Zealand Vs India, 1st Test: New Zealand beat India by 10 wickets

New Zealand Vs India, 1st Test: New Zealand beat India by 10 wickets

In the first match of the two-Test series against New Zealand, India suffered a crushing 10-wicket defeat on the fourth day. The Indian team was all out for just 191 runs in the second innings and New Zealand got a target of 9 runs. New Zealand took a 1-0 lead in the series by winning 9 runs in 1.4 overs, winning by 10 wickets.

The hosts took an 183-run lead on a first-inning basis. Indian batsmen could not show anything amazing even in the second innings. Team India were all out for 191 for 10 wickets in 81 overs in the second innings. India lost 6 wickets in just 79 minutes on the fourth day.

With this victory, New Zealand took a 1-0 lead in the series. The second Test match of the series is to be played from 29 February at Hegel Oval ground in Christchurch. If India wants to avoid a series defeat, they will have to win in the second Test. At the same time, New Zealand will win the series by drawing a second Test match.

Mayank Agarwal was the highest scorer for India in the second innings. He scored 58 runs. Apart from him, Prithvi Shaw 14, Cheteshwar Pujara 11, Virat Kohli 19, Ajinkya Rahane 29, Hanuma Vihari 15, Rishabh Pant 25 and Ishant Sharma 12 runs. New Zealand have won the Test for the fifth time by 10 wickets. He has won for the third time against India by 10 wickets. India lost by 10 wickets after 7 years in the Test. Earlier in 2013, he suffered a 10-wicket defeat in the Test against South Africa.

INDIA (PLAYING XI) - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.

NEW ZEALAND (PLAYING XI) - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (WK), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson (DEBUT), Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult.

Share this post