New Zealand vs India, 3rd T20I: New Zealand win the match by 4 runs and take the T20I series 2-1!

New Zealand vs India, 3rd T20I: New Zealand win the match by 4 runs and take the T20I series 2-1!

In the third and final match played at Hamilton, New Zealand beat India by four runs. New Zealand defeated Team India in this match named them in the three T20 matches of the series 2-1. New Zealand, batting first, lost the toss and set a target of 213 for India. In reply, the Indian team scored 208 runs at the loss of six wickets in the scheduled 20 overs.

Colin Munro was adjudged Man of the Match for his 72 runs innings. Tim Seyfert was chosen Man of the Series to score 139 runs in the series.

India started poorly, and Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed by five runs in the first over. After this, captain Rohit Sharma (32 balls 38) shared a fast partnership of 75 with Vijay Shankar (28 balls 43) for the second wicket. Rishab Pant made 28 off 12 balls and Hardik Pandya scored 21 runs in 11 balls. 

Dinesh Karthik (16 balls 33 *) and Kunal Pandya (13 balls 26 *), after the dismissal of MS Dhoni (2), shared a 63-run partnership for the sixth wicket, but could not win the team. From New Zealand, Mitchell Santner and Daryl Mitchell took two wickets each, and Scott Kuggeleijn and Blair Tickner took one wicket each.

Earlier, batting first after losing the toss, New Zealand scored 212 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Opener Colin Munro (72) scored the most runs from New Zealand. The start of the host team was extremely explosive. Apart from them, Tim Seifert (43), Colin de Grandhomme (30) and Ken Williamson contributed 27 runs. At the same time, Daryl Mitchell 19 and Ross Taylor returned unbeaten after 14 runs. Kuldeep Yadav for India, 2, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Khalil Ahmed picked up one wicket each for India.

Tim Seifert is the Man of the Series and starts off by saying he is happy to have performed well but the main fact is the team winning, especially in a nail-biting way like that. He also says that it was great to bat at the opening spot and share the partnership with Colin Munro. Signs off by saying he is really pleased about the crowd that has turned up and mentions that it feels good when playing in front of a lot of people.

Colin Munro is the Man of the Match! Says it was touch and go and credits his bowlers for doing a great job. Adds that it's pleasing and he didn't try to do anything different. States that he tried to play his game and pressurized the bowlers.


New Zealand (Playing XI): Tim Seifert(w), Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed


Share this post